Close×

Mamas and mamas-to-be, are you looking for the best natural products for babies and children? Check out our picks for the the gentlest toxin-free buys.

Toothpaste

Winner: Weleda Children's Tooth Gel, www.weleda.com.au With calendula to keep gums and mouth healthy, and flavoured with peppermint and fennel essential oils. Highly commended: Dr Brite Kids Mineral Toothpaste, www.bioliving.com.au

Baby lotion

Winner: Little Innoscents Moisture Rich Body Lotion With soothing aloe vera, nourishing avocado oil, creamy shea butter and a gorgeous floral scent of ylang ylang, www.littleinnoscents.com.au Highly commended: GAIA Baby Moisturiser, www.gaiaskinnaturals.com

Sunscreen

Winner: Ekoo Baby Kisses Gentle Sunshine Sunscreen, www.kerrycleopatra.com A gentle vegan formula with the sunblock benefits of titanium dioxide and zinc (no nano particles) plus cold-pressed oils. Highly commended: UV Natural Baby Sunscreen, www.uvnatural.com

Baby oil

Winner: Green People Organic Babies Soothing Scent-free Baby Oil, www.helioshealth.com.au With 100% certified organic evening primrose, rosehip, elderflower, and Fairtrade sesame oil. Highly commended: Fiji Spice Queen Bula Baby Oil, www.fijispicequeen.com

Baby powder

Winner: GAIA Natural Baby Powder, www.gaiaskinnaturals.com A talc-free, cornstarch based formula with a calming lavender scent. Highly commended: Skinfood Little Body Powder, www.bioliving.com.au

Baby shampoo

Winner: Organic Care 2-in-1 Conditioning Shampoo, www.organiccare.com.au With certified organic coconut oil, guar, and dandelion, this is naturally nourishing and pH-friendly.  Highly commended: Emu Tracks Baby Shampoo, www.emutracks.com.au

Hair detangler

Winner: GAIA Natural Baby Conditioning Detangler, www.gaiaskinnaturals.com With certified organic chamomile to bring out highlights, and wheat protein to reduce splitting. Highly commended: Little Innoscents Cherry Coconut Conditioner, www.littleinnoscents.com.au

Baby soap

Winner: Lovekins Camel Milk Baby Soap, www.lovekins.com.au Certified toxin-free and Australian Allergy-certified, with no palm oil or EDTA. Highly commended: Little Innoscents Goat's Milk Bar, www.littleinnoscents.com.au

Baby body wash/bubble bath

Winner: Little by TBC Body Wash, www.thebasecollective.com Enriched with aloe vera, lavender essential oil, and soothing magnesium. Highly commended: Weleda Calendula Body Wash, www.weleda.com.au

Nappy cream

Winner: Basik Organics Bottom Balm, www.basikorganics.com.au This clever water-free formula contains certified organic sunflower oil, cocoa and shea butters, and tea tree essential oil. Highly commended: Weleda Calendula Nappy Change Cream, www.weleda.com.au

Baby skin balm

Winner: Clemence Organics Baby + Mum Balm, www.clemenceorganics.com Fast-absorbing and ultra-rich, this is soothing, nourishing, and protective. Highly commended: Organic Care Baby Moisturiser, www.organiccare.com.au

Baby wipes

Winner: Lovekins Natural Baby Wipes, www.lovekins.com.au Soft-textured, eco-friendly biodegradable cloths enriched with Kakadu Plum, aloe vera, and chamomile. Highly commended: GAIA Bamboo Baby Wipes, www.gaiaskinnaturals.com

Toddler snack

Winner: Holle Bio Organic Crunchy Snack in Millet-Mango Puffs are perfectly shaped for baby hands to grab and hold, www.bioliving.com.au. Highly commended: Whole Kids Organic Apple & Date Barefoot Bars, www.wholekids.com.au

Infant formula

Winner: Blackmores Stage 1 Newborn Formula, www.blackmores.com.au Key ingredients are protein and lactose from cow's milk, vegetarian-sourced fatty acids, prebiotics, and vitamins. Highly commended: Holle Organic Infant Goat Milk Formula 1, www.bioliving.com.au

Baby swaddle

Winner: Petit Bamboo Baby Wrap, www.petitbamboo.com.au A buttery-soft bamboo fabric that cares for the planet, mother and baby, all in one.

Baby toy

Winner: Petit Bamboo Doll/Comforter, www.petitbamboo.com.au Australian-made from sustainably harvested bamboo, this cute little comforter dolly ticks all the eco boxes.